she said, “let’s pull a pixar”.

i felt down tonight. and came across this excerpt from ed cadmull – someone i admire very much:

1. Pull a Pixar

What you’re feeling: Your pink slip/parking ticket/deadline/social gaffe snowballed into a huge pile of panic. It’s all falling apart—on your head.

What to do about it: “One trick I’ve learned is to force myself to make a list of what’s actually wrong,” writes Ed Catmull, PhD,, president of Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios, in his new book Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration. “Usually, soon into making the list, I find I can group most of the issues into two or three larger, all-encompassing problems. So it’s really not all that bad. Having a finite list of problems is much better than having an illogical feeling that everything is wrong.”

Read more: http://www.oprah.com/spirit/what-to-do-when-youre-feeling-defeated#ixzz4gkXNNL6N

 

i might try it.  the moan for four minutes and pull yourself together in minute five is too hard for me.  i can’t.  i need to wallow for hours.  sigh.

 

my list tonight consists of: my weight, my quiz score, not feeling ready for school tomorrow.  feeling bad in general is on my list.  you feel bad because you feel bad.   does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

